Home > About > Foundation Board

2018-19 Executive Committee

  • Brenda Hansen – Chair 
  • Micah Adams – Chair-Elect
  • Vacant – Past Chair
  • Vacant – Secretary
  • Jamie Louie-Smith – Treasurer
  • Hadee Sabzalian – Executive Committee/At-Large
  • Bruce Smolnisky – Springfield School District Superintendent

2018-19 Board Members

Micah Adams

Chair-elect, Development Committee member, Night of 11,000 Stars Committee Chair. Assistant Vice President and Business Relationship Manager, Wells Fargo; served the Active 20-30 Club for seven years; Springfield High School alumnus (class of 1990) and parent of a Thurston High School student.

Jacob Berns 

Marketing Committee member. Lead Marketing and Communications Specialist for SELCO Community Credit Union.

Zach Bessett

Springfield Public Schools Board of Education Chair and SEF Liaison.

Terry Beyer

Chair the Alumni Committee and serves on the Innovative Educator Grant Committee. Retired Oregon House of Representatives District 12, Representative. Springfield High School graduate, 1969. Mother of three SHS graduates.

Mary Farrington ­

Chair of Innovative Educator Grant Committee, Programs Committee member. Provides connections and advice for grant applications and foundation support. Grant Writer, Erb Memorial Union, University of Oregon.

Melaney Grenz 

Night of 11,000 Stars Committee. Speech Pathologist, Springfield Public Schools.

Brenda Hansen

Board Chair, Innovative Educator Grant Committee, Development Committee and the Night of 11,000 Stars Planning Committee member. Exclusive Agent, Horace Mann Insurance. Mother Thurston High School graduate. Springfield Chamber of Commerce board member, member of Springfield Chamber of Commerce Education Committee. Member of Oregon Battle of the Books Committee. Thurston High School graduate, 1986.

Kari Isham

Program and Initiatives Committee. Teacher on Special Assignment, SPS. Graduate of Thurston High School.

Travis Joseph 

Programs and Initiatives Committee. President/ CEO American Forest Resource Council. Graduate of Springfield High School.

Kelsey Keough

Night of 11,000 Stars Committee. Group Reservations SupervisorRoyal Caribbean. Parent of two future Springfield students.

Judy Leahy

Development Committee Chair. Retired teacher and counselor with LookingGlass. Community volunteer. Mother of three Springfield High School graduates.  Office volunteer.

Jamie Louie-Smith

Treasurer, member of Development Committee. Vice President, Commercial Banking Officer, Columbia Bank.

Hadee Sabzalian

At Large Representative, Night of 11,000 Stars Committee and Development Committee. Corporate Relations Manager, FOOD for Lane County. Father of two Springfield Public Schools students. Event advisor.

Terry Scherer

Programs and Initiatives Committee. Springfield High School alumni, two children are former SPS students. Wildish Theater board member. Retired SPS Educator.

Scott Smith

Chair, Marketing Committee. Consultant. Scott retired after working 35 years in banking and credit unions. Education is very important to Scott and he previously served on the Everett Community College Foundation Board. Of special interest to Scott is making improvements so that Springfield schools are “relevant” for our children. Scott was born in Seattle and met his wife Chris in Boise, after living all over the Northwest they decided Springfield was the place for them to settle down and make their home along the McKenzie River. Scott and his wife Chris have two daughters and five grandchildren. They enjoy golfing, cooking, photography, gardening and camping in their RV.

Bruce Smolnisky

Executive Committee, Development Committee. Superintendent of Springfield Public Schools. Bruce has dedicated decades of his career to ensuring students in Springfield receive the quality education they deserve.

Kelli Warner

Night of 11,000 Stars Committee, Marketing Committee. Public relations professional with Turell Group. Mother of two Springfield students.2015-16 Annual Fund Campaign Chair.

Erik Vos 

Finance Committee. CFO, Timber Products Company.

Bruce Webber

Finance Committee. Senior Vice President – Manager, Banner Bank.

Cindy Whittington

Programs Committee Chair, Innovative Educator Grants reader. Owner/Operator McDonalds,  RMHC (Ronald McDonald House) Advisory Board member, Advocate of Education.

Michelle Winetrout

Marketing Committee. Marketing Coordinator, International Paper.

Adam Zanotto

Development Committee. Real Estate Agent, Keller-Williams.